Introducing Arianna Piccialli

I am Italian, originally from the sunny city of Naples. I graduated in physics at the University on Naples Federico II (@UninaIT). After my graduation, I moved to Germany to start a PhD at the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in the small town of Katlenburg-Lindau. After my PhD, I moved to The Netherlands for a two years postdoc at the European Space Agency. Since October 2012 I am living in Paris, first as a postdoc at LATMOS (@latmos_ipsl). I am currently a postdoctoral fellow at the Observatory of Paris (@Obs_Paris) within the EuroVenus project (@EuroVenus_EU).

My main scientific interest is the investigation of planetary atmospheres, in particular of Venus and Mars. During my graduate studies at the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, and later as postdoctoral research fellow at the European Space Agency (ESTEC, Noordwijk, The Netherlands) and at Laboratoire Atmosphères, Milieux, Observations Spatiales (LATMOS, Gyancourt, France), I analysed data from several remote sensing experiments on board the European orbiters Mars Express (PFS, OMEGA) and Venus Express (VIRTIS, VeRa, VMC, SPICAV). My current research project focuses on characterizing the composition and the thermal structure of Venus’ upper atmosphere using ALMA and NOEMA/IRAM ground-based observations.

I am also involved in several public outreach activities. Whenever possible I take part in public science events such as “open doors” days, Science fairs, public outreach seminars. I am involved in the educational project of the Observatory of Paris which offers the possibility to sponsor school classes, I have mostly worked with children of 10-13 years old. I am also a volunteer translator for Planet Press, an educational project of the European Geophysical Union, and for social media communications from the European Southern Observatory.

You can find me  rest of the year on Twitter at @apic79

Leave a Reply

